rentalhouserules

Just another WordPress.com site

Up and Comers

To all of my regular followers: I figured I should let you know what you can expect in terms of a posting schedule here on RHR ๐Ÿ™‚

I work as a freelance journalist, which keeps me pretty busy during the first half of the week (M — Th). Although I’m always working on projects around the house, I only have time to blog about it in between deadlines. So my posts tend to cluster up around the weekend. I try to post as often as I can during the week, but inevitably some weeks will be less postilicious than others… like this week. Sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

But, in the words of the great Willie Nelson, “You (are) always on my mind…” ๐Ÿ™‚

Which leads me to the theme of this post: All the stuff we’ve been up to, but haven’t had the chance to fill you in on yet!!! Wee!!!

First off, no — we don’t live on our porch. Although I know you might be led to believe we do, considering the amount of time I’ve spent obsessing over it this summer. I just couldn’t stand the less-than-zero curb appeal we had going on. Something had to be done.

In actuality, there is a TON of stuff we’ve brainstormed about/started inside the house as well. And I’ll be posting about it (a lot) in the very near future. The first thing we’re going to concentrate on?

The bathroom.

Why? Because there are several safety issues that need to be addressed immediately if not sooner. And several functional/aesthetic things that are DRIVING. ME. CRAZY.

1) Scary blinds

The first thing we did to Sonia-proof the bathroom was remove the VERY hazardous (and UGLY) aluminum mini blinds. These things are a menace. Far too many children have been strangled by the cords. In my opinion, they should be outlawed. And yet, they’re on practically every window in every rental property in America. If you have children, or even have children over to visit with any degree of regularity, I would strongly suggest removing them as soon as humanly possible.

Ours remained in place in the bathroom as long as they did is because Sonia has been strictly forbidden from being unsupervised in the bathroom for her entire life. The door has remained on perma-latch & all baths, toothbrushing, etc. happened with no fewer than one focused adult on hand.

However, she is at the stage of potty training where letting her go “by herself” is critical for her ultimate success. So… time to shore things up in there, safety-wise.

In a rare twist of good luck, our bathroom windows are frosted to begin with, so the need to buy/make some kind of window coverings right away isn’t a huge concern.

I chose black & white for this shot ’cause I’m feeling all arty.

But frankly, if the windows weren’t frosted, I’d still have taken down those danger blinds & just hung a bath towel up there or something until we could find proper window dressing. That’s how untrusting I am of mini blinds — or any blind with a string mechanism.

Of course we saved them & set them aside (far away in the basement) so the landlord can have the janky, dangerous things back when we leave someday.

2) Doorless closet:

I know. Shame. Shame. Look at that mess. And the best part? Because there’s no closet door, everybody gets to see it! All the time!!

Seriously… why would this closet be doorless to begin with? I just don’t get it.

“So, handyman, how’s the rental property coming along? I have some folks from AZ who are real interested… anything need to be fixed up before they move in?”

“No, no. I’m sure the gaping hole in their bathroom wall where a closet door should be won’t be a nuisance at all!”

At least that’s how the conversation goes in my head…

Our solution? A single section of bi-fold closet doors, mounted in a non-bi-fold fashion. And, of course, keeping all potential poisons on the highest closet shelf or under the sink which is securely locked at all times.

(This pic was actually taken a while back. The bottom shelves are practically empty now. Yet the closet is no cleaner. SHAME!!)

So we used a bi-fold to create a single door. Non-fold? …ย Uni-fold? No, that sounds wrong on a couple of levels.

Basically we just dissembled the door set & hung one side of it on hinges like a normal door. We’re not quite done with installation, though. It doesn’t exactly fit. But we can fix that. And we’re gonna. And I’ll fill you in on all the gory details then.

In the meantime, it keeps us from having to look at the mess. I won’t go off on a major justification tangent here, but I will mention that because of it’s odd dimensions, it is practically impossible to keep that damn closet organized. You’ll see. I’ve tried every trick in my book to avoid investing in a pre-fabricated closet organizer designed for spaces like this, but even I’m coming to the point of surrender. So we’ll be putting in some kind of “organizational system” soon. But it will have to be cheap. And designed to fit reeaaaallllyyy deep narrow spaces. I’m bookin’ on you, Ikea…

3) Broken toilet tank lid:

It was like that when we got here. No, really.

And they’re pretty expensive to replace ($50ish at least) and there are a ton of size & shape nuances that make finding a secondhand one that fits nearly impossible. :-{

So, with the help of our friendly local hardware guy, I tracked down some plumbing epoxy and just glued it back together. I don’t want to spoil the surprise or anything, but it worked! For a while. But, again, more on that later.

PS — That particular post will contain my favorite RHR photo to date…ย 

During the whole “Bathroom Redoย Renew,” we will also:

1) Caulk the tub

2) Do something about the paint job

3) Make over the vanity

4) Do something about the linoleum floor

5) Change up the shower curtain

6) Get a better trash can

7) Decorate

So stay tuned, because we really are almost done with the porch. Weather permitting, we should have an entire porch/curb appeal reveal post for Monday! ๐Ÿ™‚ Weather permitting. Please.

COMING UP: FINAL PORCH PROJECTS & REVEAL; BEGINNING OF BATHROOM RENEW!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Up and Comers

  1. A formidable share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing somewhat evaluation on this. And he in actual fact purchased me breakfast because I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If doable, as you become experience, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is extremely useful for me. Massive thumb up for this weblog put up!

    • Thank you too! I hope the breakfast was tasty ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m studying up on how to grow Rental House Rules as we speak, so stay tuned! The improvements both in content and programming will happen gradually, but they’re coming ๐Ÿ™‚
      And please continue to spread the word — the more traffic the site gets, the more time/money/effort I can put into it. Win/win!
      ๐Ÿ™‚ Amy

Leave a Reply

