rentalhouserules

Just another WordPress.com site

I’ve Certainly Made MY Bed… (With Faboo Reveal Pics!!!)

Brace yourselves — because in the words of my all-time favorite blogger, Barney Stinson, this reveal is going to be legen-wait-for-it-DARY!!!

TA-DA!!!!!!! Yes. It is gorgeous. I am a genius. You may all bask in my glory.

(And screw you very much for noticing that our grass needs trimming.)

For real, though. Dude. SO. MUCH. BETTER.

In case you still don’t quite agree, let me remind you of what the front of our house looked like before.

And… AFTER:

Before:

After:

Before:

And after:

Seriously. our CAP is on the R-U-N!!!!!!

Let’s recap how I accomplished this Herculean task on a limited budget & without breaking my lease…

1) LOST MY EVER-LOVING MIND AT GARDENING CENTER Β (a.k.a. Bought supplies)

Don’t forget to borrow tools whenever possible & take into consideration whether perennials or annuals are your best choice.

2) GOT RID OF THE FUGLY Β (a.k.a Removed unwanted features)

In our case, 3 rotting wooden rails were all that were standing in our way. If your features are more permanent or if their removal is likely to cause property damage, revise your plan from “removing” to “obscuring” unwanted features.

3) SAID HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!! (a.k.a. Weeding)

Go nuts. Let out your inner sociopath. Weeds are the fruit of the devil. Kill them. Kill them all.

4) GAVE MYSELF SEVERAL BLISTERS (a.k.a Cultivated the soil)

I cannot recommend a claw-style cultivator enough. Let me repeat that. I cannot recommend a claw-style cultivator enough. By the way, did I remember to recommend you use a claw-style cultivator?

5) COMPLETELY RUINED CHANCE TO BE ALL “ECO” (a.k.a. Decided to try weed-blocking fabric made of petroleum products rather than opting for far more environmentally responsible choice of newspaper)

Whatever, Judge Judy. I want to know if it works.

6) SPENT 2 SCHIZOPHRENIC HOURS RE-ARRANGING FLOWER POTS ON A BIG SHEET OF PLASTIC Β (a.k.a. Chose a garden layout)

I prefer a slightly asymmetrical look, so I chose to put some of my Asiatic lilies over by the existing orchid plants (upstage right). When it all fills in, I hope the lilies will kind of nestle inside the orchid greens πŸ™‚ And if it looks too unbalanced I can always “anchor” the other back corner with a big color bowl like this spare red one I couldn’t resist but didn’t have specific plans for…

7) FEARED BEING BLOWN OFF TO OZ WHILE FRANTICALLY DIGGING IN THE DIRT (a.k.a. Plant flowers)

You probably won’t have this problem. If you’re not horribly, ridiculously bad at budgeting your time (like me) and/or don’t live in a black & white farmhouse with your Auntie Em.

8) STRESSED ABOUT NOT BEING ABLE TO FINISH BLOG POST BECAUSE OF ALL THE STUPID RAIN (Self explanatory)

Seriously. Over a solid week of pouring rain.

9) GOT MY GARDEN BLING ON (a.k.a. Added edging & climbing flowers)

I chose a simple wooden border to complement our wood porch & steps, but there are TONS of kinds of edging to choose from. Also, when it comes to climbing flowers/vines, be forewarned: Some landlords don’t allow them.

They can cause deterioration of the brick. I’ve safeguarded against this in the past (and will in the very near future…) by making sure my climbing flowers don’t come into contact with any actual part of the house. I’m training mine to stay on the wooden lattice/metal porch railing. If they make a break for the brick, I just gently reposition them. You can also train them to climb tree trunks, lattice frames or even a trellis.

10) Β WAS CROWNED CURB APPEAL QUEEN OF THE NEIGHBORHOOD (a.k.a. Received several compliments)

Here’s me addressing the adoring throngs from the royal balcony:

Leadership is all about body language.

So, that’s how you put in a simple flower bed. Really, anyone can do it. And the sense of accomplishment is worth the small amount of hard work involved. (Really only the weeding/cultivating/raking.)

It hugely improves the look of your home & can be accomplished in a single weekend. (If it doesn’t rain.)

In terms of money, you can get away with spending much less than I did (about $200) by buying annual flowers rather than perennials. True, you’ll have to buy more next year, but let “future you” worry about that.

And fret not — if full-size flower beds ain’t yo thang, you can always do some super-easy container gardening. I’ll hit you up with a how-to post on that soon πŸ™‚

COMING UP: WE MOVE ONTO THE PORCH!!!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “I’ve Certainly Made MY Bed… (With Faboo Reveal Pics!!!)

  1. kelli2929 on said:

    I am an owner, but live in a rental. How this makes sense you ask, property owned is only 980sq. Do not think that our marriage would last long, especially with a teenager which makes three…. I too believe you HAVE to make the place you call home, a home.
    Amy my dear, each time i read something of yours I am never left truly proud to say you are my friend… ok, its also neat that you are the most entertaining writer/blogger I know. MUAH!

  2. Chi-town Kitty on said:

    Love the transformation and your quote about leadership-so true!

  3. So preeeeetty! Sprucing up a rental is always a good ideaβ€”you live there, doncha?! Lovely lovely lovely. I must admit I have porch envy!

  4. It looks beautimous!Laughed myself silly over the weed comments, and the royal balcony. Gardening up north sure is different than in the desert, but you should try it in the swamp sometime-just saying. Looking forward to your container gardening post.

Leave a Reply

